File sharing is easily done when you sync your iOS devices with iCloud especially when they are purchases made on your iTunes or your App Store. You can sync your iPhone and iPad to your iCloud account to share the data among all of your iOS devices efficiently. You can also sync your photos to the iCloud photo stream and with that you can access those iCloud photos you have uploaded on your Desktop too.
How to Access iCloud Photos from your PC:
- When you have opened your web browser, please enter this link: www.icloud.com/icloudcontrolpanel. This will direct to another site where you can download the iCloud Control Panel to use on iCloud.com. This iCloud Control Panel will enable you to control and edit your iCloud photos on your desktop.
- In order to download, you would have to click on the blue “Download” button and wait to finish the downloading process.
- To start the installation, click the .exe (executable file) of the downloaded file. You can find the downloaded file at the bottom of your browser or in your Default Download file folder on your Desktop.
- After the installation has finished, you can find the program’s shortcut icon on your desktop or the Start Menu of your desktop.
- Launch iCloud by just clicking on its icon in the Start menu or on your desktop.
- You will have to enter your Apple ID in the given field.
- Enter your associated password in the password input field.
- Then, open iTunes.
- To check for iCloud photos, click on the My computer in your Start menu.
- You will now be able to see that a new category has been added in the My Computer menu ie; the ‘Others’ category which will now have the iCloud Photos menu.
- Finally, click on this Others category to access your iCloud photos on your PC.
Also with the newly released iCloud Drive, you can be assured that the sharing of your photos and videos with people is real easy. These people then can view the photos and videos that you have shared on iCloud easily. For this, you would need to create a shared album and your friends and family and they can also be invited to add their photos and videos. Then, all those photos and videos can be stored to the iCloud on your Desktop or www.icloud.com. The photos and videos contents will be available on all platforms and you can access them from any Apple device you are using and on iCloud.com and you can read about the functionality of the iCloud Photo Library HERE.
Using iCloud photo library, you can keep your photos and videos organized into across all your iOS devices and even on the web. All your photos would be automatically uploaded in the cloud storage of your iCloud account and every change you make to your photos are uploaded to iCloud and will be made visible on all other iOS devices.
With the release of iOS 8.1 Firmware version, the iCloud Photo Library was one of Apple’s major feature that was showcased. You can access all of your synced photos and videos to iCloud on all your iOS devices. The new feature has now removed the 30 days or 1,000 photos for your online photo storage on iCloud.com. You can also create a shared album which you can invite your family and friends to add pictures and videos.
Features of the iCloud Photo Library:
- When you upgrade to iCloud Photo Library, all of your photos will get stored online and not in albums. Videos will be in separate folders and Favourites will display your favourite photos and videos on the iCloud.
- The iCloud Library supports the following file formats for your photos and videos and they are – .jpeg, .png, .raw, .gif, .tiff and .mp4.
- If you happen to accidentally delete your picture, you can restore your picture within 30 days of deletion by contacting Apple Support. Specify your reason which is deleting your image accidentally and you will receive the Help you need.
- Please take note that your device has iOS 8.1 or higher to enable the use of iCloud Library.
- To be fully warned, iCloud Photo library is still in its beta version.
How To Enable or Use iCloud Photo Library in Various Devices?
- For your iOS device, go to your Settings > iCloud > Photos & Camera. In Photos & Camera, tap to toggle on iCloud Photo Library. Note that a Toggle On indication will be the toggle switch turning green.
- On www.iCloud.com on your PC or Mac, sign into your ICloud account by typing in your email address and password of your iCloud Login. Click on iCloud Photo Library to access ‘All Photos’ of your synced photos and videos.
- Apparently, Apple hasn’t launched the application for your Windows or Mac and it will only be launched in the later half of the year.
- You can upload your photos and videos manually by going to iCloud.com followed by upload on the top, select the photo you wish to upload and click on OK. To simply prevent your photos to sync on other iOS devices click on Settings > iCloud > Photos and disable the Upload to My Photo Stream option on your specified iOS devices.
iCloud pictures hacking scandals has spread like wildfire in the recent days. It is devastating when your private and intimate photos in your drive are hacked through and shared to millions online. This article will be focused on how the theft happened and the steps you can take to make sure that your private photos remains private.
According to apple, the theft was caused by a targeted attack on usernames, passwords and security questions, The hackers used a combination of phishing, social engineering, and using publicly known information about the target to gain access to his/her iCloud account. Therefore, celebrities were mostly the victim of icloud photo hack.
Once the hackers had their hands on the passwords, they used ‘Elcomsoft Phone Password Breaker’ to download the iPhone backups from Apple’s servers. From there, getting access to the photos were easy. Even though investigations have been going on to solve the iCloud pictures hack case, it is always better to be on the safe side. Here’s how you can stop these hacks happening to you:
- Using Two-Step Authentication.
It is an additional security feature for your Apple ID that prevents anyone from accessing your account from an unknown device, even if they know your username and password. Once you set up the two-step authentication, signing in from unknown device would require a 4-digit verification code that you receive on your ‘trusted device’, which should be a SMS capable phone number. This can potentially reduce the iCloud photo hacks.
To set up the two-step authentication:
- Go to ‘My Apple ID’.
- Select ‘Manage your Apple ID’ and sign in.
- Select ‘Password and Security’.
- Under Two-Step Verification, select ‘Get Started’ and follow the instructions.
- Transferring your photo to computer.
- Set your iPhone to ‘Airplane Mode’.
- Turn off ‘iCloud backups’ from the ‘Settings’.
- Turn off ‘Photo Stream’.
- Connect the iPhone to your computer.
- Launch a program like ‘Image Capture’ that can read the camera roll.
- Transfer your images to your computer.
- Then, use the program to delete the images from your iPhone.
- For extra layer of security, put your images into an encrypted .dmg or .zip file.
- Managing Photo sync feature.
Photo Sync, by default, is enabled once you activate iCloud in your devices, so that photos snapped from your iPhone, for example, will be available in your computer via your iCloud account on Apple’s server. Therefore, even if you delete your photos from your iPhone, they will still be stored on your iCloud. Disable the iCloud photo stream and sync feature if you just want your photos in your one device. And, if you like to permanently delete/move photo, you might want to check your iCloud too. So, no photos in your iCloud, no iCloud pictures hacks.