Monthly Archives: February 2017

How to Restore Data from iCloud

iCloud is a cloud storage service provided by Apple specially for the Apple users. But anyone can sign up for the iCloud account for free and get the 5 GB of cloud storage for free. The basic concept of the iCloud is to be able to access the data and files that are stored in iCloud from anywhere and from any device you want. You have to log in with the same iCloud account from all your Apple device (iPad, iPod, iPhone, Mac) and you can make access you files, data, photos from any device you want. Whenever you make changes to one device, the same changes will be made to another device automatically.

So with the advanced techniques, iCloud users do not have to worry about their data being lost. Even the deleted data can be restore easily.

How To Restore Data From iCloud ?

The first step is to go to icloud.com in your browser and log in with your Apple ID and password. Once you sign in, click the Settings icon from the launch pad page.

That will re-direct you to the iCloud Settings page, which contains all the information about your iCloud account, a list of the devices that are signed into your iCloud account, and, way down at the bottom of the page, under Advanced section which provides options for restore of backup capabilities.

Here’s what you can fix and restore

    • Files: When you remove a file from iCloud Drive, whether you do it by dragging it out of iCloud Drive on your Mac or by deleting it from within an app on your Mac or in iOS, iCloud saves the file for 30 days it is deleted automatically permanently, much like the way deleted photos are stored in the Recently Deleted album in the Photos app. Select the files you wish to put back into their respective iCloud Drive folders and click Restore to have them reappear in your iCloud Drive. Files shows the days remained before deletion. After that time, they will be permanently deleted.

    • Contacts: iCloud keeps track of when you make changes to Contacts and stores an archive of that data from the day before. iCloud retains these archives for about a month. If you have messed up your contact list on your Apple device, then you can restore them from an earlier day’s version: click Restore to the right of the archive you wish to restore. Note that restoring an archive restores the contacts on all of your devices (remember, the truth is in iCloud, not on your devices). Your current contacts will then be archived so that you can get them back if you need it. If you are confused, which one to choose then just check the date of the archive contact on the list.

restorecontacts

    • Calendars and Reminders: Like Contacts, iCloud notify you whenever you make changes to your calendar events and reminders and stores an archive of your Calendar and Reminder data as they were on that day before you made any modifications. Also like Contacts, iCloud retains about a month’s worth of Calendar and Reminder archives. Select Restore by the entry for the Calendar and Reminder archive that you want to restore; doing so replaces that information on all of your iCloud-connected devices. Keep in mind, however, that calendars and reminders can be shared with others, so restoring from an archive has a couple of side effects: any shared calendars and reminders will have to be shared again, and any pending calendar event invitations you have sent out are removed and new invitations issued in their place.

restorecalendarsicloud

  • Bookmarks: iCloud makes it easy to share the same Safari bookmarks and reading lists among all your devices, and it stores changes to those on a daily basis when you modify them on any device. As with Contacts, you merely need to click Restore by the bookmark archive you wish to have replace the bookmarks and reading lists on your iCloud devices (you have the previous month’s worth of archives to pick from). And, similar to Contacts and Calendars, the replaced bookmarks and reading lists are archived so you can restore those if necessary.

restorebookmark

If you have nothing to restore, then it will show the message accordingly. Please remember that, use this restore option only when you need it. Restore and playing with you backup and deleted data might be frustrating if done wrong.

iCloud Photo Sharing

iCloud is a cloud storage system developed for iOS users. It is available for Apple products like iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch. iCloud lets you store a lot of file varieties. You can find that you can activate the same Apple ID across many devices. This way you sync contacts, calendar, messages, etc through iCloud. The iCloud Photo Library is also a very recent feature. It allows you to store pictures. Then, through iCloud Photo sharing, you can share those pictures with others as well. You will then to set it up first. You can also use Apple TV (4th Generation) for this feature.

What to Do Before Using iCloud Photo Sharing?

  1. Make sure you have the iOS 8 version & later on your Apple devices; iPhone, iPad & iPad Touch. Also, update your Mac to the latest OS. And that your Apple TV has the latest tvOS.
  2. Make sure the iCloud feature is On for all devices.
  3. Also, you should be signed in with the same Apple ID on all your devices.
  4. Make sure your Windows PC is running Windows 7 & above. This is for Windows users who use the iCloud Desktop application.

Now that you have made sure you are all set to use this feature. You need to turn On this feature. Below, we will list how to turn it On on all available platforms.

  • For Apple Devices like iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch: Go into the Settings App. Then, tap on iCloud and then Photos.  Toggle the iCloud Photo Sharing On there,
  • For Apple TV, go to Settings, then go to iCloud. Turn the iCloud Photo Sharing feature On.
  • Mac users should go to the Apple Menu, then click on System Preferences. Go into iCloud, then into Photos and turn the Photo Sharing option On.
  • On Windows, launch the iCloud desktop application, click on Photos. The Options box will be revealed. Click on it to reveal the Photo Options. Now, tick next to iCloud Photo Sharing text.

Now that it is set up, you can start using it. It is amazing what you can do with this feature. On shared albums, people will also be able to comment or add their photos. You can then also save those photos added by your friends.

How to Use iCloud Photo Sharing ?

  1. You can create a new Album to share.
    • Go to the Photos app.
    • Tap and go to the Photo Stream tab. Tap on the + icon.
    • Type in a name for that album.
    • Then, select the people you wish to invite to see this album from your Contacts list.
    • Tap on Create after the above steps.
      icloudphotosharing
  2. You can invite anyone you want to. Even users not using iCloud can view your shared Albums.
    • Open up the Shared Album you have just created.
    • Go to the People Tab on your Apple device. On your Mac, click the People icon.
    • There is a Public Website option. Toggle it On.
    • Then, you can share that link with everyone else.
  3. You can also add your own photos and videos.
    • From your photos app, select the photos and videos you want to share.
    • Next, tap on . And to iCloud Photo Sharing.
    • Then, select the Album you wish to add those files into.
  4. You can comment and Like those photos.
    • Anyone can comment and Like those photos.
    • You will get notifications if they do.
    • You can also reply back to comments as well.
  5. Save photos and videos that were added by your friends.
    • This way you can keep those files shared by your friends.
    • You can also only saved Videos on your Mac or Windows PC.
    • Apple device users tap on , then on Save Image.
    • On your PC, select those pictures or videos. Next, Control + click. Then, click on Import.
  6. You can also delete from the shared albums.
    • This is only in the case where you do not like any of those comments and pictures and videos added.
    • Or subscribers can delete themselves. If they are the ones to add them.
    • Remember that these will be deleted permanently from the album.
    • So make sure to download them before deleting.
  7. You can also remove subscribers from your albums.
    • Open that shared album.
    • Tap on the People tab.
    • Next, select the Subscriber(s) you want to remove.
    • Tap the Remove Subscriber option then.
  8. You can also delete that shared album.
    • Open the shared album.
    • Then, tap and go to the People tab.
    • Select the Delete Shared Album.

You can upload pictures of the jpeg, raw, png, gif, tiff formats. Panoramic pictures can be up to 5400 pixels wide. Videos can be of mp4, QuickTime video file formats, H.264 and mpeg-4 formats. You can also upload special iPhone videos like slo-mo, time-lapse and 4K videos. This albums will not be counted against your iCloud storage capacity.